TEI (Guidelines)

The first public proposal for the TEI Guidelines was published in 1990 as P1 (for Proposal 1). The further development of the TEI Guidelines was done in four Working Committees and 17 Working Groups, one of which was the working group on Text Criticism (TR2) chaired by Peter Robinson, and another one on Manuscripts and Codicology (TR9) chaired by Claus Huitfeldt. The TEI community took these guidelines through several rounds of testing, debates, and revisions, to the monumental P3 Guidelines for Electronic Text Encoding and Interchange, which was first published in 1994 as a 1292 page documentation of the definitive guidelines.

(Vanhoutte 2004, 10-11)

Contributed by Caroline. View changelog.